Order for Guest
Your shopping cart is empty.
Royal Scottish National Orchestra
Royal Scottish National Orchestra
Søndergård Conducts Mahler Five
  Thursday 4 October 2018
  Caird Hall

(Disabled and Carer)
(Under 26, Mature Students and Unemployed)
Under 16s)
(Maximum 2 Tickets Free per Paying Adult)
(Additional Children £6.00)
  Group Discounts Available
01382 434940

Online transaction fee £2.00
Postage fees may apply

“A symphony must be like the world,” declared Gustav Mahler. “It must embrace everything!”

  • Lotta Wennäkoski: Flounce (Scottish premiere)
  • Beethoven: Piano Concerto ? 2
  • Mahler: Symphony ? 5
  • Thomas Søndergård: Conductor
  • Francesco Piemontesi: Piano
  • RSNO: Orchestra

So what better way for Thomas Søndergård to make his entrance as the RSNO’s new Music Director than by plunging headlong into Mahler’s Fifth Symphony: a sweeping romantic drama of life, death and – of course – love?

Superstar pianist Francesco Piemontesi plays Beethoven’s brightest concerto, and a musical firecracker from Finnish composer Lotta Wennäkoski lights the touchpaper.

Come and join the celebration!